Shehbaz Sharif elected as 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Shehbaz Sharif elected as 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Pakistan’s parliament elected Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif as the country’s 23rd Prime Minister on Monday after a weeklong constitutional crisis that led to the ouster of Imran Khan from office through a successful no-confidence vote the other day.

The 70-year-old Shehbaz Sharif is the president of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and the younger brother of former three-time Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

Shehbaz Sharif, a nominee of joint opposition received 174 votes (two more than required 172) in the 342-seat National Assembly. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) of ex-Premier Imran Khan had fielded Shah Mahmood Qureshi against Shehbaz Sharif. However, PTI boycotted the voting process and walked out of the parliament.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), the party of slain premier Benazir Bhutto and his spouse former President Asif Ali Zardari is coalition partner with PML-N in the government.

Shahbaz Sharif─ who has previously served Punjab province three times as Chief Minister ─ could hold power until the current assembly expires in October 2023.